14.1 C
Friday, February 23, 2024

From sunday Anti Measles Vaccination Campaign

Nepal online patrika , kathmandu | The...

National Assembly Member Election: 97 percent voting in Lumbini

Politics NewsNational Assembly Member Election: 97 percent voting in Lumbini
Save This Post

Nepal online patrika , kathmandu | In Lumbini Province, a 97% voter turnout has been recorded in the National Assembly member elections held on Tuesday. The Lumbini Province Election Office in Dang reported that the voting percentage reached 97% by 1:00 PM.

The voting took place at the Gorahi Sub-Metropolitan City-15 Employees’ Meeting Center, where 85 members of the Provincial Assembly and 210 local level chiefs/deputy chiefs cast their votes, as informed by Gehendra Kunwar, Information Officer at the Lumbini Province Election Office in Dang. According to him, only two members of the Provincial Assembly and 10 voters from the local level are yet to cast their votes.

For the National Assembly member elections, prominent figures like Lumbini Province Chief Minister Dilip Bahadur Chaudhary, Speaker Tularām Gharti, Finance Minister Dhan Bahadur Māskey, and others have already exercised their voting rights. In Lumbini Province, a total of 87 Provincial Assembly members and 118 local level chiefs and deputy chiefs, totaling 305 voters, will participate in the elections.

Also Read

Voting is scheduled from 9 AM to 3 PM, with women vying for one seat and men for two seats in the other category in Lumbini Province. Candidates from the alliance include Vishnudevi Sapkota from Nepali Congress in the women’s category, Tulasa Kesi from CPN (UML), and Vijayalakshmi Sih from Rashtriya Janamorcha in the men’s category.

Jhakuprasad Suvedi from CPN (Maoist Center) in the women’s category, Jhapendra Bahadur Gharti Kshetri from CPN (UML), and Balgovind Chaudhary from Janamat Party are the candidates in the alliance’s other category.

Check out other news

Check out other tags:

Most Popular News